Sunday 16th June, 2013 at Long Itchington
A big walk? Ten miles in fact!! We had read in the canal guides about places of interest in the vicinity, so after breakfast we set off on foot along the tracks of the Leamington and Weedon branch line, which closed in 1958 - so it didn't even survive to the time of Dr. B**ch*ng. The old track-bed was very overgrown and we kept an eye open for Drs. Livingston, Stanley or perhaps even Lord Lucan lost in the undergrowth.
As we walked up from the old railway cutting to the Model Village, we crossed a field that had recently been cut for turf. The sight reminded R of the turf that his family sold from Hill Farm in the late 60's.
Angela's boat nb "Little Gem" was appropriately named; as it really did look like a lovely little gem. It was clean and in very good condition.
Today: 10 miles on foot, but none on MM.